(619) 505-7777

Spirit of Stonewall Rally this Friday

Spirit of Stonewall Rally this Friday

San Diego’s first rally was held in 1975. The Spirit of Stonewall Rally is a time to recognize and honor leaders who are working hard to preserve our gains and meet the many challenges still facing our community. It is a time for us to honor our origins, celebrate those who are leading the way, and call our community to action around some of our movement’s most pressing issues.Hosted by the Hillcrest Business Association and held in conjunction with the annual Pride of Hillcrest Block Party, this year’s rally will be a scaled back, in-person event and streamed online.

SPIRIT OF STONEWALL AWARDSEvery year, San Diego Pride accepts nominations from the community for the annual presentations of the Spirit of Stonewall Awards. The awards recognize individuals who contribute significantly to the LGBTQ community through their leadership, activism, and fundraising efforts.


Champion of Pride – Dwayne CrenshawCommunity Grand Marshal – Moe GirtonStonewall Service Award – San Diego Black LGBTQ CoalitionInspirational Relationship – Jamie Arangure & Frannya TuchmanLarry T. Baza Arts & Culture Award – Matt MorrowStonewall Philanthropy Award – The Burgess FamilyCommunity Service – Ana LauraLight of Pride – Strong Hearted Native Women’s CoalitionFriend of Pride – County of San Diego Board of Supervisor Chair Nathan FletcherLearn more about the rally here

Learn more about the awardees here

Stay tune, speakers will be announced soon.

ACCESSIBILITY:American Sign Language interpretation services have been confirmed for this event. We will provide reserved seating for those who use ASL interpreters and those with accessibility needs in the first row. The venue is accessible to all mobility devices. All-gender, mobility-device-accessible restrooms are available at the venue. For any other accommodation needs, please email accessibility@sdpride.org one week before the event.For inquiries regarding this event please email info@sdpride.org or call 619-297-7683.

Bus route: 1 / 11