(619) 505-7777

The Center announces 2020 LGBT Veterans Wall of Honor inductees

The Center announces 2020 LGBT Veterans Wall of Honor inductees

The San Diego LGBT Community Center has announced the 2020 inductees into the Benjamin F. Dillingham, III & Bridget Wilson LGBT Veterans Wall of Honor, and invite the community to join them in a virtual Induction Ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 5 from 6-7 pm, livestreamed from The Center’s Facebook page.

 Since 2011, The LGBT Veterans Wall of Honor recognizes LGBTQ veterans who served under Don’t Ask Don’t Tell, and transgender and nonbinary veterans, all with ties to San Diego. By serving the country honorably, and with distinction, each veteran honored as part of this Wall of Honor has served as a role model for advancing equality for all. The LGBT Veterans Wall commemorates these veterans' lives in hopes that their courage, bravery and sacrifices will continue to inspire future generations.

 The 2020 San Diego LGBT Veterans Wall of Honor inductees are:

 •           El Bisarra, USN

•           Lynn Pender, USN

•           Jose Rivera III, USN

•           Tristan Sotomayor, USN

•           Barbara Jean Crusberg, USMC

The inductees are selected by an advisory council consisting of US armed forces veterans with connections to the local LGBTQ community. Nomination packets are heavily vetted and require a great deal of documentation to confirm the nominee's veteran status, community contributions, and more. Nominations are accepted annually through July 31. 

The virtual ceremony will include a brief program with celebration of military colors, the National Anthem, recognition of inductees, and special remarks.