(619) 505-7777

Your Nicky Award winners 2019

Your Nicky Award winners 2019

It was another dazzling night of fun, community revelry and wonderful surprises at the 44th Annual Nicky Awards that took place Sunday night at Point Loma's Courtyard Marriot Liberty Station. 

Attendees were dressed to the nines and posed for photos at the step and repeat before the ceremony got started. 

Statuettes were handed out to the nominees who won in their categories via online ballots.

San Diego Gay and Lesbian News and SDPIX, both published by Hale Media won Best Online Publication and Best Publication respectively. 

Johnathan Hale who owns both publications was also honored along with Stefan Chicote for their work on the Hillcrest Pride flag.

Stefan Chicote was presented with one of the retired Pride Flags for advocating the concept of the Hillcrest Pride flag to the Hillcrest Business Association.

And Johnathan Hale was presented with the original Pride flag first flown on July 20, 2012, For his leadership in fundraising for the project.

Below the video is the full list of winners and recipients of special commendations.


Special Commendations and Awards:

The Mayor George Moscone Humanitarian Award - San Diego Police Chief David Nisleit.

The Congresswoman Susan Davis Equality Award - Connor Maddocks

The Big Mike Phillips Community Service Award - Kerrie & Karen Stone

Special Recognition – Johnathan Hale & Stefane Chicote

Nicky Award Winners 2019:

1. Outstanding Sports Org- San Diego Flag Football

2. Outstanding Pharmacy – Hillcrest Pharmacy

3. Outstanding Brunch – Urban Mo’s

4. Outstanding Neighborhood Bar - Pecs

5. Outstanding Bar- Gossip Grill

6. Outstanding Medical MJ Dispensary- Urban Leaf

7. Outstanding Nightclub/Bar Event- Divas San Diego

8. Outstanding Trainer- Grant Foreman

9. Outstanding Night Club/Dance Bar- Rich’s

10. Outstanding Women’s Night= Finger me Friday

11.Outstanding Bar Owner- Jeff Jackson at Flicks

12.Outstanding Bar Manager- Ryan Bedrosian Rich’s

13.Outstanding Female Bartender- Claire Uptown Tavern

14.Outstanding Male Bartender- Kane The Loft

15.Outstanding Bar Employee- Dwayne Wynne Gossip Grill

16.Outstanding Impersonator- Kickxy Vixen Styles

17.Outstanding DJ/VJ- Dj Taj

18.Outstanding Female Personality- Dina Somsamouth

19.Outstanding Male Personality- Erik Benson

20.Outstanding Transgender Activist- Coco Chanel

21.Outstanding Levi/Leather Personality- Myles Ramos

22.Outstanding Entertainer/Group- TieDreamgirls MO’s San Diego Gay Men’s Chorus

23.Outstanding Title Holder- Joey Dematteo- Tantrums & Tiara’s 2019

24.Outstanding Restaurant- Inside Out

25.Outstanding Male waitperson- Zach Bryan Inside Out

26.Outstanding Female Waitperson- Mayra Baja Betty’s prestigious 

27.Outstanding Business- Ace Hardware & Lugi Vera

28.Outstanding New Business- Humanity

29.Outstanding Business Man- Michael Saltsman

30.Outstanding Business Woman- Jody Taylor

31.Outstanding Achievement in the Arts- The Studio Door

32. Outstanding Community Volunteer- Sean Redmond

33.Outstanding HIV/AIDS Service Provider- Family health Center

34.Outstanding Community Activist- Coyote Moon

35.Outstanding Community Event-San Diego Pride Launch Party By Rob Benzon Foundation

36.Outstanding LGBT Community Org- San Diego Pride

37.Outstanding Straight Ally- Jessica Wight-Carter

38.Outstanding LGBT Publication- SDPIX

39.Outstanding LGBT Writer/Columnist- Benny Cartwright

40.Outstanding LGBT Online Media- SDGLN

41.Outstanding Bank- San Diego County Credit union

42.Outstanding Night Club Dancer- Marvin Garcia

43.Outstanding LGBT Couple-Moe Girton & Dawn Stultz/Glitz Glam & Anthony Roller Greika

44.Outstanding Non- Binary- Amber St James

45.Outstanding Thrift Shop- Buffalo Exchange

46.Outstanding Corporate Sponsor- Hotel Del Coronado

47. Man of the Year - Nick Serrano

48. Woman of the Year - Dina Somsamouth