(619) 505-5555

The Nickys is going to be a great night with some great surprises

The Nickys is going to be a great night with some great surprises.
Photo credit:
Christopher Sheehan - Nickys 2018 - SDPIX

Every year the buzz surrounding the Nicky Awards is palpable, and this year is no exception. 

The Nicky Awards (Nickys) are handed out to people and establishments in San Diego's LGBT community for their work in making positive changes, working toward community acceptance, equality, and awareness throughout the county.

The polished golden statuettes are given to people who won the majority of votes after being nominated by their peers. The Nickys, started by activist and City Commissioner Nicole Murray-Ramirez, is celebrating 44 years on Sunday night and that makes it the oldest LGBT awards event on the west coast. 

This year, along with the trophies bestowed to winning nominees, there will also be special presentations honoring those who have left an indelible mark of positivity on the community through their service and commitment, including the owner of this very publication.  

The Mayor George Moscone Humanitarian Award will be given to San Diego Police Chief David Nisleit. Chief Nisleit was promoted to the City of San Diego’s 35th Chief of Police on March 2, 2018. Since then he has become an LGBT ally, reaching out to community leaders immediately following crimes that affect them.

A new presentation, The Congresswoman Susan A. Davis Equality Award, will be presented to community leader and trans advocate Connor Maddocks. For nearly two decades Maddocks has been doing advocacy and civil rights work in San Diego's Transgender community. Assemblymember Todd Gloria will present the award. 

SDPIX and San Diego Gay and Lesbian News publisher Johnathan Hale and Baja Betty's Stefan Chicote will be getting distinctive honors. They will receive special rainbow flags and City commendations for their work in making Pride Plaza a reality. Chicote will be honored for coming up with the idea of a permanent Pride flag monument in Hillcrest, and Hale will be honored for his fundraising efforts that made it all happen. 

Hale will receive the original banner that flew on the pole when it was first hoisted. 

The banners will be presented to the gentleman by Chris Ward, Nicole Murray-Ramirez and Ben Nicholls, the Executive Director of the Hillcrest Business Association.  

Nicholls will also discuss the future plans for Pride Plaza.

The 44th Annual Nicky Awards will be held on Sunday, December 8, 2019, from 6 pm to 10 pm. 

The Courtyard Marriott Liberty Station is located at 2592 Laning Road, 92106.