(619) 505-7777

Some SD Pride parade contingents will be honored with special ribbons

Contingents across 10 categories will be recognized with beautiful ribbons.
Photo credit:
San Diego Pride

For the first time in history, contingents in San Diego's Pride Parade will be honored and acknowledged in 10 categories with beautiful ribbons for their involvement in the 2018 celebration. 

Categories range from people and businesses in the community to their allies and supporters. Each category will have a first, second and a third place winner.

San Diego Pride Co-Founder City Commissioner Nicole Murray-Ramirez and Barbara Blake, the executive director of the San Diego Equality Business Association came up with the idea which will now become an annual occurrence. 

The ribbons are being underwritten by the Imperial Court de San Diego, and the awards ceremony will be held at the Hotel Del Coronado on Thursday, Sept. 27 

"The Pride Community Advisory Council and San Diego Pride wanted to show our sincere appreciation for the contingents and the work that is put into organizing them that truly make our Pride Parades shine as the biggest parade in the City of San Diego," said Murray-Ramirez.

Here are the categories: 

Best Youth/Student Contingent

Best Non-Profit Contingent

Best Faith-Based Contingent

Best HIV/AIDS Awareness Contingent

Best Health and Wellness Contingent

Best Musical Contingent

Best San Diego Small Business

Contingent with the Best Use of 2018 Pride Theme (Marching)

Contingent with the Best use of 2018 Pride theme (Float)

Best Corporate Ally Contingent

And the winners are: 

Pacific Beach United Methodist Church (Louis Perez)

Leather Pride (Adam Wentzel)

Congregation Dor Hadash (Ros Goldstein)

Harrah's Resort Southern California (Mia Gresil)

Aids Healthcare Foundation and Impulse San Diego (Pat Ruis)

HIV/AIDS Long-Term Survivors (Michael Lochner and San Diego Pozabilities)

AIDS LifeCycle (Megan Riley)

Super Sonic Samba School (Kiri Decker)

San Diego LGBT Community Center (Cara Dessert/Benny Cartwright)

Planned Parenthood of the Pacific Southwest (Sharina Carbajal)

Amarin Thai (Art Paktipatt)

 San Ysidro Health (Brenda Huerta)

Blue Shield of California (Chris Huber)

Sweetwater Union High School District GSA (Mariana Gomez)

Hotel Del Coronado (Wayne Harth)

Pilgrim United Church of Christ (Anna Runion)

Family Health Centers of San Diego(Brad Makaiau)

AMN Health (David Haasz)

The Alliance of Affirming Parents and Families (Robert Gleason)

San Diego Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence (Aaron Borovoy)

San Diego Pride Youth Marching Band Under the Direction of Russ Sperling

Amarin Thai (Art Paktipatt)

San Diego Women's Chorus (Colleen Pratt)

Pilgrim United Church of Christ (Anna Runion)

Super Sonic Samba School (Kiri Decker)

San Diego Public Defender (Andrea Pella)

Uber (Casey Epps)

Rich's San Diego (Andrew Jackson)

Broadway San Diego (Mark Beltran)

Modern Times (Stephen Reynolds)

HIV/AIDS Long Term Survivors (Michael Lochner and San Diego Pozabilities)

Congregation Dor Hadash (Ros Goldsrein)

San Diego Gay Men's Chorus (Bob Lehman)

San Diego LGBTQ Coalition (Ian Morton)