(619) 505-7777

Nicky Award winners 2017

Many were awarded "The Gay Academy Awards of San Diego" on Sunday night.
Photo credit:
Outstanding Female Personality -- Vanessa Dubois at SDPIX

It was another wonderful night of local LGBT appreciation at the Courtyard Marriott at Liberty Station on Sunday night as people came out for the 42nd Annual Nicky Awards. 

They honored the local men and women who have put their hearts and efforts into doing everything from contributing to local causes, entertainment and fundraisers. 

There were plenty of surprise winners in some categories, with a few awards going to community mainstays with unbroken winning streaks.  

This was also the first year San Diego native Ebony Burnett Mullins produced the event. She is a past co-chair of San Diego LGBT Pride, a professional event planner and is involved in many non-profit charity causes.  

Here are the all the winners of the 42nd Annual Nicky Awards: 

Outstanding Sports Organization

Armada Rugby

Outstanding Pharmacy 

AHF Pharmacy

Outstanding Brunch 

Pardon My French

Outstanding Neighborhood Bar 

Uptown Tavern

Outstanding Bar 


Outstanding LGBT Philanthropist 

Chris Shaw

Oustanding Nightclub/Bar Event 

WTF @ Rich's

Outstanding Personal Trainer 

Grant Foreman

Outstanding Nightclub/Dance Bar 


Outstanding Women's Night

Finger Me Friday: Gossip Grill

Outstanding Bar Owner 

Sarah Critchlow - Redwing Bar & Grill

Sherman Mendoza-The Caliph

Outstanding Bar Manager 

 Rikke Ellis-Bahena: #1 on 5th Ave.

Outstanding Female Bartender 

Dre Feeney@ Gossip Grill

Outstanding Male Bartender

Gunther Vanderpump: Pecs

Outstanding Bar Employee 

Michael Carr: Flicks

Outstanding Impersonator 

Paris Sukomi Max

Outstanding DJ/VJ


Outstanding Female Personality

 Vanessa Dubois: SDPIX

Outstanding Male Personality 

Chris Barone: Baja Betty's

Outstanding Transgender Activist

 Brooke Sullivan

Outstanding Levi/Leather Personality 

Narhan Kendrick-Mr. SD Leather 2017

Outstanding Entertainer/Group 

San Diego Gay Men's Chorus

San Diego Divas: Rich's

Outstanding Title Holder 

Josh Ramirez-Tantrums & Tiaras

Outstanding Restaurant

Martini's Above Fourth

Outstanding Male Waitperson 

Spencer Luster: Martini's Above Fourth

Outstanding Female Waitperson 

Marisol: Urban Mo's

Outstanding Business 


Outstanding New Business

Tacos Libertad 

Outstanding Business Man 

Robert Hubbard

Outstanding Business Woman

 Moe Girton: Gossip Grill

Outstanding Achievement in the Arts 

Clairone Guitierrez

Outstanding Community Volunteer 

Robert Tice: Alano Club

Outstanding HIV/AIDS Service Provider 

Mama's Kitchen

Outstanding Community Activist

Rick Cervantes

Outstanding LGBT Community Event 

Out At The Park by San Diego Pride

Outstanding LGBT Community Org.

The San Diego LGBT Community Center

Stepping Stone of San Diego

Outstanding Straight Ally 

Courtney Ray: Harley Gray

Outstanding LGBT Publication 

Gay San Diego

Outstanding Writer/Columnist 

Joel Martens: Rage Monthly

Outstanding Online Media 


Outstanding Bank 

California Bank & Trust

Outstanding Nightclub Dancer M/F

Marvin Garcia

Outstanding LGBT Couple 

Billy Kelly & Bob Taylor

Julie Hoffman & Summer Lee

Outstanding Hair Stylist

Joseph Anthony

Outstanding Real Estate Agent

Bo Bortner

Outstanding Corporate Sponsor 


Outstanding Man of the Year

Fernando Zweifach Lopez Jr.

Outstanding Woman of the Year 

Shannon Wagner

Mayor George Moscone Humanitarian Award 

Ambassador Marcela Celorio-Consul General of Mexico

Sheriff William D. Gore

San Diego Harvey Milk Civil Rights Award 

Benny Cartwright

BigMike Phillips Community Service Award 

Rob Benzon Foundation