(619) 505-7777

41st Annual Nicky Awards brings out local LGBT community stars

Chad Michaels
Photo credit:
Vanessa Dubois - SDPIX

Amid all the uncertainty of the presidential campaign, the San Diego LGBT community and their allies did as they always do and came together for a special night of honors.

The 41st Annual Nicky Awards took place at the Handlery Hotel in Mission Valley on Sunday night, and it was an evening filled with support and reassurance.

A nearly sold-out crowd listened and watched as many honors were given in the ballroom.

Senator-elect Toni Atkins and member-elect of the California state assembly Todd Gloria presented the George Moscone Humanitarian Award to Police Chief Shelley Zimmerman.  

While the Harvey Milk Civil Rights Award was given to Patrick Smith, International Mr. Leather 2015, for his global work with the LGBT community.

Morgan Hurley received the Michael Portantino Achievement in Media Arts Award.

Then it was on to the community awards hosted by The Center’s Benny Cartwright and comedienne Mia pearl who announced winners which ranged from Outstanding Pharmacy (AHF Pharmacy) to Outstanding Real Estate Agent (Bo Bortner).

Hale Media grabbed two statuettes for the evening: Outstanding Publication for SDPIX and for the seventh year in a row SDGLN for Outstanding Online LGBT Media.

San Diego’s own Paris Sukomi Max (winner of Outstanding Impersonator) brightened up the show with an ensemble of dancers performing Jai Ho (You Are My Destiny), and Drag Race alum Chad Michaels invoked his signature impersonation of Cher with “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For,” and “Song for the Lonely.”

The evening ended after the final awards were handed out, Man of the Year went to Stephen Whitburn and Woman of the Year, Barbara Blake.

Special mention to some of the winners of the evening should go to Outstanding Community Event, "Tantrums and Tiaras" who announced that show will return in February 2017, and San Diego police officer Christine Garcia who won Outstanding Transgender Personality. 

Here are the 41st annual Nicky Award winners:

1) Outstanding Straight Ally: Jeff & Hillary Whittington

2) Outstanding New Business: Pardon My French

3) Outstanding Pharmacy: AHF

4) Outstanding HIV/AIDS Service Provider: Being Alive

5) Outstanding Community Organization: Lambda Archives

6) Outstanding Bank: California Bank & Trust

7) Outstanding Sports Organization: America's Finest City Softball League 

8) Outstanding Neighborhood Bar: Uptown Tavern

9) Outstanding On-Line Media: SDGLN

10) Outstanding DJ/VJ: DJ Mateo Sagade

11) Outstanding Bar Event: Dreamgirls at Urban Mo's

11) Outstanding Bar Event: Stripper Circus at Rich's

12) Outstanding Entertainer/Group: Keith London (American Idol)

12) Outstanding Entertainer/Group: San Diego Gay Men’s Chorus

13) Outstanding Title Holder: Kickxy Vixen Styles-Miss Gay Pride 2015

14) Outstanding Community Activist: Eddie Rey

15) Outstanding Writer/Columnist: Tim Parks

17) Outstanding Levi/Leather Personality: Scottie Tidwell

18) Outstanding Transgender Personality: Christine Garcia-SDPD

19) Outstanding Impersonator: Paris Sukomi Max

20) Outstanding Female Personality: Toni Duran

21) Outstanding Male Personality: Clarione Gutierrez

21) Outstanding Male Personality: Fernando Lopez (SD Pride)

23) Outstanding Bar Employee: Neal Carson at Flicks

24) Outstanding Personal Trainer: Marcia Villavicencio

25) Outstanding Female Bartender: Emily at Gossip Grill

26) Outstanding Male Bartender: Nick Demaeco at Baja Betty"s

27) Outstanding Male Waitperson: Tali Lopez at The Mission

28) Outstanding Female Waitperson: Tara Novak at Harley Gray Kitchen & Bar

29) Outstanding Women's Night: Boobie Trap at Gossip Grill

30) Outstanding Publication: SDPIX

31) Outstanding Bar Manager: Ryan Bedrosian at Rich's

32) Outstanding Night Club/Dance Bar: Rich's

33) Outstanding Bar Owner: Jeff Jackson at Flick's

34) Outstanding Restaurant: Arrivederci

34) Outstanding Restaurant: Martini's Above Fourth

35) Outstanding Night Club Dancer: Nelson Marin

36) Outstanding Business: Kevin's Barber Shop

37) Outstanding Business Woman: Marci Bair

38) Outstanding Business Man: David Cohen

39) Outstanding Community Volunteer: Fernando "Ponyboy" Junior

40) Outstanding Brunch: Breakfast Republic

41) Outstanding Bar: Flick's

42) Outstanding Community Event: Tantrums and Tiaras

43) Outstanding LGBT Couple: Nelson Marin & Marvin Garcia

43) Outstanding LGBT Couple: Karen & Kerrie Stone

44) Outstanding Real Estate Agent: Bo Bortner

45) Man of the Year: Stephen Whitburn (San Diego Pride)

46) Woman of the Year: Barbra Blake (GSDBA)

2016 Mayor George Moscone Humanitarian Award - Police Chief Shelley Zimmerman

2016 Mayor George Moscone Humanitarian Award - San Diego Police Department

2016 Harvey Milk Civil Rights Award - Patrick Smith 2015 IML

2016 Michael Portantino Outstanding Achievement in the Media Award- Morgan Hurley

[This article has been updated to show a complete list of Nicky Award winners]