(619) 505-7777

Palm Springs Pride names 2014 honorees and grand marshals

PALM SPRINGS, California -- With the Palm Springs Pride celebration just over a month away, Greater Palm Springs Pride has announced the recipients of its 2014 Pride Honors Awards, which includes honorees and the parade grand marshals.

The Pride Honors are presented annually to individuals in order to recognize the work they have put into raising awareness and furthering the causes of LGBT individuals and their allies. The awards will be presented at a ceremony on Friday, Oct. 10, at the Hyatt Palm Springs.

Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to the nation’s leading transgender advocate for LGBT rights Shannon Minter and businesswoman pioneer Mariah Hanson. Recognized as the 2014 Organization of the Year is The Desert Rose Playhouse. Fiona Foyston and Pat Bergmann, along with Tony Marchese, will be recognized with Spirit of Stonewall Community Service Awards.

Pennie L. Feehan and Gordon Elkins will be honored as Volunteers of the Year, and Riverside County Assistant Sheriff Raymond Gregory and community activist Wes Rankins will be recognized with the Spirit of Pride Award for advancing equality, promoting diversity and celebrating the strength and talent of the LGBT community. The 2014 Friend of Pride Award will be presented to student advocate Tori St. Johns and in recognition of her trailblazing work as the first openly transgender trial judge in the United States, Superior Court Judge Vicky Kowlakowski will be the 2014 Spirit of Stonewall Special Guest.

The Community Grand Marshals recognized for their positive and lasting impact represent two generations of volunteerism and service in the community. Alexis Ortega is leading a new generation that’s dedicated to building a stronger and more vibrant community and Thomas Smith is recognized for thirty years of community service, leadership in the leather community and as an award-winning author.

The Spirit of Stonewall Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to recognize an individual whose lifetime body of work has left a lasting major imprint on the LGBT community. The recipients for 2014 are Shannon Price Minter and Mariah Hanson.

Additional information about the honorees is HERE.

Palm Springs Pride is scheduled for Nov. 7-9 with a number of events including an Equality Concert, Block Party, Parade, and two-day Festival. Additional information is HERE.