(619) 505-7777

SDSU's LGBT Student Union to receive campus Diversity Award

SAN DIEGO -- The LGBT Student Union (LGBTSU) at San Diego State University has been selected to receive the school's annual "Diversity Award," a top honor that reflects the organization's commitment to inclusion on campus and in the community.

San Diego State University's annual Diversity Awards - taking place Wednesday, April 24 - serves as an opportunity for the community to come together and celebrate the school's long standing commitment to diversity, inclusion, and social justice.

LGBTSU has been on the campus for nearly 40 years as an educational, social, and support group for the LGBT community and its allies.

SDSU NewsCenter shares the reason LGBTSU was selected for this year's "Student Organization Diversity Award" honor:

The LGBT Student Union has a proud history at SDSU including a long-standing commitment to foster awareness and social justice through its signature events, such as The Big Gay Barbeque. The group also involves its members in campus programming such as the Pride Action Committee, speakers bureau, High School Conference and Alumni outreach.

The current board is committed to improving campus life by ensuring a place and voice for all LGBTQ students, regardless of their affiliation with the LGBT Student Union. The board does this via weekly meetings, ongoing programming and events, where they provide a welcoming, safe learning environment for students, faculty and staff.

In the near future, the organization will be changing their name to the Queer Student Union. The new name exhibits a more inclusive way of describing the organization.

Other honorees include Dr. Nola Butler-Byrd who will receive the Faculty Diversity Award; Janet M. Abbott receiving the Staff Diversity Award; and Sean Sheppard who will be honored with the Alumni Diversity Award.

The event begins at 4:30 pm and will also include recognition of SDSU's Cultural Competency Certificate recipients, Presidential Scholarship recipients, and corporate and community supporters.

The ceremony will take place in the Parma Payne Goodall Alumni Center on the SDSU campus.

For more information, click HERE.