(619) 505-7777

Uptown Planners elect new board members

SAN DIEGO -- At the Uptown Planners meeting on March 6, an election was held to determine the new board of directors, which will serve for four years. Of the nine candidates, seven were elected to the board and there were 184 votes cast.

The new board will consist of: Ernestine Bonn of University Heights, Thomas Fox of Bankers Hill, Beth Jaworski of University Heights, Jim Mellos of Mission Hills, Joe Naskar of Mission Hills, Christopher Ward of University Heights and Matt Winter of Hillcrest.

Bonn said she is serving her last term and said she hopes to get a lot done. Including this term, Bonn will have served 16 years on the Uptown Planners.

“My main desire to have another term is to see the completion and adoption of the Uptown Community Plan,” she said. “We have to pay attention and not repeat what happened in Uptown during the flush years when development was everywhere [with] condo conversions, the loss of many historic resources and outsized buildings that were not sensitive to the built environment.”

Read the full story in San Diego Uptown News, a SDGLN media partner, HERE.