(619) 505-7777

Mr/Ms/Miss/Mx LGBTQ Pride San Diego honorees sashed on Tuesday night; Mr. Teen LGBTQ San Diego named

Mr/Ms/Miss/Mx/Teen LGBTQ Pride San Diego honorees sashed on Tuesday night

The annual Mr/Ms/Miss/MxLGBTQ Pride honorees, along with the Mr. LGBTQ Teen Pride honoree, were announced on Tuesday night at Mayor Todd Gloria's inaugural San Diego Pride Kick-Off event held at the Balboa Park Organ Pavillion. The event concluded with the lighting of the Organ Pavillion in rainbow colors.

This year's honorees are:

Mr. LGBTQ Pride San Diego: Benny Cartwright

Ms. LGBTQ Pride San Diego: Freda Horton

Miss LGBTQ Pride San Diego: Kickxy Vixen-Styles

Mx. LGBTQ Pride San Diego: Jazmyn Glam

Mr. LGBTQ Teen Pride San Diego: Chase Matys-Gleason

San Diego's LGBTQ Pride honors have been around since the early 1970s, sponosred by the Imperial Court de San Diego. In past years, the selection of the honorees has been done through a pageant style event. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, a pageant was not able to be organized in time so the honorees were selected by Imperial Court members, based on community service and achievements.

Queen Mother Nicole Murray-Ramirez presented the honors, along with Mayor Gloria, City Council President Jennifer Campbell, and Council President Pro Tem Stephen Whitburn.

It will be up to honorees to carry out their title and plan service projects or other community empowerment events over the next year.