(619) 505-7777

California remains blue despite red tide on Election Day

SACRAMENTO, California – On Election Day in which Republicans romped to victory on a national level, Californians bucked the trend and re-elected Democrats to all the major state offices.

Gov. Jerry Brown was declared the winner the moment the polls closed on Tuesday night, crushing Republican Neel Kashkari 58.7% to 41.3%. It’s his fourth term as governor.

Lt. Gov. Gavin Newsom also cruised to victory over San Diego Republican Ron Nehring, 55.9% to 44.1%.

Secretary of State Alex Padilla defeated Republican Pete Peterson, 52.5% to 47.5%.

Controller Betty T. Yee had a similar result against Republican Ashley Swearengin, 52.8% to 47.2%.

Treasurer John Chiang whipped Republican Greg Conlon, 57.7% to 42.3%.

Attorney General Kamala D. Harris romped over Republican Ronald Gold, 56.3% to 43.7%.

Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones trumped Republican Ted Gaines, 56.3% to 43.7%.

Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson bested Republican Marshall Tuck, 52.1% to 47.9%.

Voters also gave the thumbs-up to retain state Supreme Court Associate Judges Kathryn Mickle Werdegar, Goodwin Liu and Mariono-Florentino Cuellar.

On the state ballot measures, voters said yes to:

• Prop 1: funding water quality, supply, treatment and storage
• Prop 2: state budget stabilization account
• Prop 47: reducing criminal sentences of certain crimes to misdemeanors

On the state ballot measures, voters said no to:

• Prop 45: healthcare insurance rate changes
• Prop 46: doctor drug testing and medical negligence
• Prop 48: Indian gaming compacts referendum

California Assembly and Senate races

Voters in state Assembly District 78 re-elected Democrat Toni Atkins, the first lesbian to hold the office of Assembly Speaker. Atkins has also served as Acting Governor on several occasions while the top officials were out of the state. Atkins beat Republican Barbara Decker, 60.2% to 39.8%.

District 79 voters sent Democrat Shirley N. Weber to the Assembly as she knocked off AIP candidate George R. Williams, 60.78% to 39.22%.

Democrat Lorena Gonzalez was unopposed and was re-elected to District 80 seat in the Assembly.

Traditionally conservative North County sent three Republicans to the Assembly: Marie Waldron defeated Democrat Nicholas Shestople, Rocky J. Chavez topped another Republican Thomas Krouse, and Brian Maienschein breezed past Democrat Ruben Hernandez.

In Senate races, Democrat Ben Hueso was re-elected to his District 40 seat despite his DUI, beating fellow Democrat Rafael Estrada; Republican Joel Anderson beat Democrat Fotios Tsimboukakis in District 38; and Republican Pat Bates toppled Democrat Gary Kephart in District 36.

Southern Californians vote in congressional races

Democratic incumbent Susan Davis rolled over Republican Larry A. Wilske, 57.88% to 42.12%, to win congressional District 53.

Republican Carl DeMaio holds a 752-vote lead over incumbent Democrat Scott Peters in District 52, with provisional and absentee ballots yet to be counted. Read our story HERE.

Democrat Juan Vargas manhandled Republican Stephen Meade to return to his District 51 seat.

Republican Duncan Hunter rolled to re-election to District 50 seat, crushing Democrat James H. Kimber.

Republican Darrell Issa also was re-elected, easily beating Democrat Dave Peiser.

* * *

As a matter of full disclosure, Hale Media Publisher Johnathan Hale has a personal relationship with Carl DeMaio.

* * *

Ken Williams is Editor in Chief of SDGLN and GLBTNN. He can be reached at ken@sdgln.com, @KenSanDiego on Twitter, or by calling toll-free to 888-442-9639, ext. 713.