(888) 277-4253

Who advanced in the runoff for San Diego mayor?

SAN DIEGO -- The City of San Diego is one step closer to having a new mayor. After a long night of waiting for the election numbers to come in, Kevin Faulconer will face David Alvarez in a February runoff, according to unofficial results.

Faulconer, a Republican, finished first in Tuesday's primary election, taking 43.58% of the vote. Alvarez, a Democrat, took second place with 25.59% of the vote, just ahead of the 24.3% of the vote that Nathan Fletcher received - a difference of about 2,600 votes. The vote totals have not yet been certified as official.

Faulconer and Alvarez serve on the San Diego City Council and will reactivate their campaigns today in hopes of winning the mayoral seat vacated this summer by disgraced Mayor Bob Filner.

Mike Aguirre, a former City Attorney, took fourth spot with 4.44% of the vote, followed by the seven lesser-known candidates, none of whom received more than 1,000 votes each.

Faulconer, who had been leading in the vote tally since the earliest numbers were released around 8 pm, gave a victory speech just after 10 pm, surrounded by his family and supporters.

It was neck-and-neck between Alvarez and Fletcher throughout the night, with Alvarez taking the second place spot from Fletcher after a couple rounds of vote tallies were released. By 11 pm, Alvarez overtook Fletcher as votes below Interstate 8, considered strongly blue, were counted in the totals.

Fletcher is no stranger to the mayor's race. He ran in the 2012 mayoral primary against Filner, Carl DeMaio and Bonnie Dumanis. Fletcher and Dumanis were eliminated after the primary election, which lead to the heated contest between Filner and DeMaio.

More information about Kevin Faulconer's campaign is HERE. David Alavarez's campaign is HERE.

Election result totals from the San Diego County Registrar of Voters are HERE.

Left photos

Top photo: Kevin Faulconer

Bottom photo: David Alvarez