(619) 505-7777

Three Californians honored as 2013 Harvey Milk Champions of Change

WASHINGTON -- Three Californians are among 10 openly gay LGBT leaders who are being honored today at the White House as 2013 Harvey Milk Champions of Change.

The event is being live streamed at noon PDT on Wednesday, May 22, HERE.

The Californians are:

• Ricardo Lara – California State Senator, Long Beach, Calif.

• John Laird – California Secretary of Natural Resources, Santa Cruz, Calif.

• Michael A. Gin – Mayor of Redondo Beach, Redondo Beach, Calif.

The other winners are:

Simone Bell – Georgia State Representative, Atlanta, GA

• Angie Buhl O’Donnell – South Dakota State Senator, Sioux Falls, S.D.

• Karen Clark – Minnesota State Representative, South Minneapolis, Minn.

• Kim Coco Iwamoto – Hawaii State Civil Rights Commissioner, Honolulu, Hawaii

• Kim Painter – Johnson Country Recorder, Iowa City, Iowa

• Chris Seelbach – Cincinnati City Council Member, Cincinnati, Ohio

• Pat Steadman – Colorado State Senator, Denver, Colo.

Harvey Milk Champions of Change are LGBT leaders who have demonstrated a strong commitment to both equality and public service. They are citizen legislators, executives and appointees who serve honestly, openly and proudly.