(619) 505-7777

U.K. House of Commons approves marriage equality, sends bill to House of Lords

LONDON – The House of Commons voted today to approve the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill on its third and final reading.

The vote was 366-161.

The bill now goes to the House of Lords, where the issue is far from settled and debate will begin in June. The bill would only apply to England and Wales.

Same-sex marriage has been legalized in Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, the Netherlands (and the Caribbean island of Saba), New Zealand (August 2013), Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden and Uruguay (Aug. 1, 2013).

In Mexico, same-sex marriage is available in the Federal District (Mexico City) and in the states of Oaxaca and Quintana Roo. The marriages are recognized nationwide by Supreme Court order.

In the United States, same-sex marriage has been legalized in Connecticut, Delaware (July 1), Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota (Aug. 1), New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island (Aug. 1), Vermont and Washington -- and in Washington, D.C. It also is legal within the Coquille Indian tribe in Oregon, the Suquamish Indian tribe in Washington state and the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians in Michigan.