(619) 505-7777

Campus Pride announces recipients of the 2010 National Voice & Action Award

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Campus Pride recognizes George Aumoithe Jr. of Bowdoin College (Class of 2011) and Stephen Lucas of Pennsylvania State University (Class of 2010) with the 2010 National Voice & Action Leadership Award.

The annual honorary recognition is the only one of its kind focused nationally on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) and ally college students. Every year the award is bestowed upon young adults who have made extraordinary contributions as LGBT and ally leaders at colleges and universities across the United States.

“Campus Pride created the Voice & Action National Leadership Award to showcase the amazing work and commitment by young adult leaders in our movement for fairness and equality. Indeed, both George and Stephen exemplify this award and campus Pride honors both of them and all the outstanding leaders who applied this year,” said Christopher Bylone, Campus Pride volunteer program coordinator.

More than 30 college students applied for the Voice & Action National Leadership Award this year.

Both honorees are hailed by peers, faculty and staff on their respective campuses and represent the best of LGBT and ally activism. Aumoithe is a junior at Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine, and is the co-founder & co-editor of Q Magazine. Lucas is a senior at Pennsylvania State University in College Park. He is the only undergraduate student serving on the executive board of the Penn State Commission on LGBT Equity.

"Today we need more leaders in our movement like George and Stephen and the 30 other notable applicants for this award--young adults who tirelessly advocate and create change for future generations," said Shane Windmeyer, executive director of Campus Pride.

"The Voice & Action Leadership Award finally gives visible national recognition where it has long been overdue."

Windmeyer said the Voice & Action National Leadership Award is meant to underscore the mission of Campus Pride – "to develop, support and give voice and action in building future LGBT and ally leaders."

The award is bestowed upon individuals who use their "voice" to speak up and who take "action" to make a positive difference.

About Campus Pride
The award program is made possible through Campus Pride corporate partners Ernst & Young, LLP & OUTmedia.

The Campus Pride national recognition includes a free registration to attend a LGBT and ally regional conference and the Voice & Action Award itself. As a bonus to the honorary recognition, OUTmedia (www.outmedia.org) offers a free artist or speaker of the recipient's choice to bring to their respective campus the following year. Artists and speakers include LZ Granderson, Vidur Kapur, Emanuel Xavier, Donna Rose, Tami Gold, Jackie Monahan, Good Asian Drivers, Gregory Douglass, Mimi Gonzalez and Ben Lerman. Ernst & Young and OUTmedia are nationally known for their commitment and work promoting diversity as well as LGBT and ally advocacy among young adult populations.

Members of the selection committee included the campus Q Team Youth Advisory Board, Shelly Weiss of OUTmedia, Khanh Vu of Ernst & Young, Vernon Wall of ACPA - College Student Educators International, Dave Reynolds of The Trevor Project, Vince Garcia of The Point Foundation and the former 2009 Voice & Action Award Recipients - Celso Perez, Shawna Scott and Justin Hager.

For more information e-mail info@campuspride.org or visit their website below.