(619) 505-7777

Who's who list to be inducted in National Gay & Lesbian Sports Hall of Fame

CHICAGO – Tennis legends Billie Jean King and Martina Navratilova and Olympic greats Greg Louganis and Johnny Weir are among the inaugural induction class of the National Gay & Lesbian Sports Hall of Fame.

The hall’s board said this will be the largest induction class. The inductees include current and retired athletes, organizations, straight allies, former pro sports officials, activists and journalists.

The inductees are:

* Billie Jean King
* Martina Navratilova
* Greg Louganis
* Johnny Weir
* Chris Kluwe
* Brendon Ayanbadejo
* Ben Cohen
* Dave Pallone
* Justin Fashanu
* LZ Granderson
* Christina Kahrl
* Dr. Tom Waddell
* Chuck Dima
* Jerry Pritikin
* Dave Kopay
* Glenn Burke
* Renee Richards
* Patty Sheehan
* Andrew Goldstein
* Jason Collins
* Orlando Cruz
* Gay Games
* Outsports.com
* Chicago Cubs
* International Gay Rodeo Association (IGRA)
* Anheuser Busch

The induction of the first honorees will happen on Aug. 2 at a ceremony at the Center on Halsted. Tickets are available HERE. There will be two ticket types, VIP and general admission. The VIP is $50, and will include a seat in the Hoover-Leppen Theatre and a VIP meet-and-greet reception. The general admission is $25, and will include a reception and viewing on televisions outside the theater. Both tickets will include a hosted bar and food.

The VIP meet and greet reception is 5-6 pm. The general reception is 6-7 pm. The Induction Ceremony is 7 to 8:30 pm and will be in conjunction with Out at Wrigley on Aug. 3 – the nation’s largest “Gay Day” at a major league sporting event. Tickets for Out at Wrigley can be purchased HERE.