(619) 505-7777

SD Pride Board and community leaders reach an agreement

The San Diego Pride Board and community leaders have pushed through their differences and Pride will go on as usual.
Photo credit:
San Diego Pride

Editor's note: This is a  press release from San Diego Pride:

San Diego, CA – San Diego Pride is pleased to announce that an agreement with LGBT leaders has cleared the way for the community to come together in support of the 2017 San Diego Pride events.

Notably, community leader Will Rodriguez-Kennedy has arranged for LGBT Community Pride to cancel its own reservation of space in Balboa Park next July in favor of supporting the annual San Diego Pride Festival.

The move follows San Diego Pride’s recent addition of new board members and candidates, and it’s reinstatement of a community advisory council to be chaired by City Commissioner Nicole Murray-Ramirez and GSDBA CEO Barbra Blake and the updating of meeting minutes posted on its website.

Meanwhile, former executive director Stephen Whitburn has expressed his full confidence in the Pride staff and its preparations for next summer’s celebration.

The Pride Board of Directors has always had great respect for Mr. Whitburn, and nothing about his departure suggests anything but gratitude for the positive legacy he leaves at San Diego Pride.

“Together, as a community, we are excited to continue our efforts to expand our advocacy, education and community organizing.

We plan to lead by example and believe that this will strengthen the organization and our community as a whole," said Pride Board Co Chair Bianca Burt.

The mission of San Diego LGBT Pride is “Fostering pride in and respect for all lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities, locally, nationally, and globally.”

The San Diego Pride events are expected to take place the last weekend of July 2017.


San Diego LGBT Pride Board

Bianca Burt, Co-Chair

Jim Seal, Co-Chair

Matthew Verdeflor, Treasurer

Phyllis Jackson, Secretary

Martha Henderson, Board Member

Lynn Barnes-Wallace, Board Member

Nenette Agulto, Board Member

Judi Schaim, Board Emeritus

Jeri Dilno, Board Emeritus

Joe Mayer, Board Emeritus

Doug Moore, Board Emeritus

Save SD Pride Town Hall Forum

Will Rodriguez-Kennedy, Lead Organizer/Negotiator

LGBT Community Pride Committee

Ebony Burnett-Mullins

Carlos Salazar

Tiffany Gonzalez

Zandro Palma

Ryan Trabuco

Former San Diego LGBT Pride Executive Director

Stephen Whitburn